Australasian Law Teachers Association

Promoting Excellence in Legal Academic Teaching and Research



In accordance with the ALTA Constitution, the Executive comprises thirteen members across the Australasian region. Executive members are elected from the membership at the Annual General Meeting in July of each year with the AGM being rotated among member countries. 

The ALTA Executive 2018 meeting dates are below:

  • July 2018 (ALTA Annual General Meeting)
  • November 2018

Executive Positions are appointed at the Annual General Meeting which takes place during the Annual Conference which this year will be held at the Law School of the University of South Australia. Notice of the AGM and Nomination forms for the Australian and New Zealand Executive are distributed at least 21 days prior to the AGM.

At that time, nominations are accepted for the following positions:

  1. Chairperson
  2. Deputy Chairperson
  3. Secretary
  4. Treasurer
  5. Editor-In-Chief Legal Education Review (LER)
  6. Editor-In-Chief Journal of the Australasian Law Teachers Association (JALTA)
  7. Editor-In-Chief ALTA Law Research Series (ALRS)
  8. Executive Member

Office holders 

The 2018-19 ALTA Executive Office Holders are as follows:


Professor Paul Fairall, Curtin University

General executive

  • Chairperson: Professor Nick James (Bond University)
  • Deputy Chairperson: Professor Natalie Skead (University of Western Australia)
  • Immediate Past Chairperson: Professor Stephen Bottomley (Australian National University)
  • General Secretary: Emeritus Professor David Barker AM (University of Technology, Sydney)
  • General Treasurer: Professor Nick James (Bond University)

Executive members

  • Professor Jennifer Corrin (University of Queensland)
  • Professor Alberto Costi (Victoria University of Wellington)
  • Professor Melissa Castan (Monash University)
  • Professor William McNeil (Southern Cross University)
  • Professor Melissa De Zwart (University of Adelaide)
  • Professor Alex Steel (University of New South Wales)

New Zealand executive

  • Chairperson: Professor John Hopkins (Canterbury University)
  • Secretary: Associate Professor Matthew Berkhan (Massey University)
  • Treasurer: Mr Sascha Mueller  (Canterbury University)
  • Executive Member:

For lists of Former ALTA Officers including past Executive Members, Conference Register and Former Presidents, Former General Chairpersons and Former New Zealand Chairpersons, please see below:

ALTA constitution

Read the ALTA constitution.

Contact us +61 2 6125 4178

ALTA Secretariat hosted by the ANU College of Law

The Australian National University, 5 Fellows Road, Canberra  ACT 2601

 ABN: 99015138294

© 2016 Australasian Law Teachers Association
Images reproduced with the permission of the ANU College of Law, The Australian National University

Please direct all enquiries to: ALTA Secretariat | Page authorised by CHAIR, ALTA
The Australian National University, CRICOS Provider Number: 00120C

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management