ALTA Interest Groups

ALTA Members have the opportunity to join one of 29 Interest Groups listed below, the names and contact details of each Interest Group convener are also listed below. For downloadable lists of past Interest Group Conveners, please click here.


Clinical Legal Education &

Practical Legal Training                          
Paul Rogers                     



Competition and Consumer Law
Alex Bruce



Company Law        

Anil Hargovan



Comparative & Asian Law

Simon Butt



Constitutional Law

Imtiaz Omar



Criminal Law

Kris Gledhill



Dispute Resolution

Marilyn Scott



Environmental Law

Jacquie Svenson



Equity and Trusts

Sue Tappenden



Ethics & the Legal Profession

Maxine Evers




Evidence & Procedure

Kathy Douglas



Family Law 

Convenor position currently vacant.




Indigenous Peoples & the Law

Matiu Dickson



Intellectual Property

David Price



International Law

Convenor position currently vacant



Labour Law

Kristy Richardson



Law & Computers

Alexandra Sims



Law & Economics 
George Barker



Legal Theory and Law in Context

Michael Head



Law & Medicine

Tina Popa


Law & Social Justice

Melville Thomas


Law for Non Law Students

Susan Douglas



Legal Education

Judith McNamara



Legal History

Convenor position currently vacant.



Legal Research & Communication

Natalie Cuffe



Property Law

Fiona Burns



Revenue Law

Robin Woellner



South Pacific Legal Studies

Jennifer Corrin



Tort & Contract

Penelope Watson








Each Interest Group has a dedicated forum within the Member's area, which allows members to interact with others within their specific field of interest. 


For the Convener Roles and Responsibilities document, please click here.


If you are interested in forming a new ALTA Interest Group, would like further information about roles and responsibilties or have any other Interest Group queries, please contact the ALTA Administrator at


News feed

  • Curtin Law & Tax Review - Call for Contributions

    Curtin Law and Taxation Review (CLTR) - Call for Contributions 2016 Edition – Volume III ... more »

  • ALTA Professors join Australian Tax Review

    Professors Kerrie Sadiq and Dale Pinto join Australian Tax Review.   Thomson Reuters... more »

  • ACCC Free Online Tertiary Education Program

    Are you interested in including an up-to-date, interactive and highly practical educational resour... more »

Members Area

If you are a member with a login, you can access member services, forum and member details below:

Forgot Password?


View All

    There are no upcoming events